The Medico-Legal Society

Promoting medico-legal knowledge in all its aspects

At the Society’s AGM on 13th June 2024 the President Simon Readhead KC submitted his report on the Society’s activities over the past year. The full report can be accessed here: President’s Report June 2024

Although many people look at our Journal online, we know our members and subscribers look forward to receiving their print copy. The latest (volume 92 Part 2) recently arrived through the letterbox.

In this edition the editors consider the duty of doctors acting as “Good Samaritans.” Medical Editor Jane Turner recalls stepping up just after qualifying to help an elderly lady suffering from dehydration. Should such a doctor be under a legal duty to help? Editor-in chief Diana Brahams offers a legal perspective as well as some anecdotes of her own.

The Journal also in review includes in print the talk that has attracted record online hits – Professor Mike Tipton’s lecture on “Extreme Environmental Physiology in the Dock” with particular reference to the effect on the human body of immersion in cold water.

There are also articles on the 2023 change in the law which means child marriages contracted abroad will not be recognised and, from Australia on the legal and ethical implications of posthumous conception. Further articles explore the implications of dementia caused by concussion whilst playing rugby and, from Italy, a review of the role of  the ship’s doctor.

Subscribe to News

Enter your email address to subscribe to this website and receive notifications of new news articles by email.

News archive